Register to comment and receive news in your inboxRegister or Log in

Meet the winners of the 2023 Eco-Logic Awards!

There is an infectious feeling of optimism and comradery in the air when a group of like-minded individuals get together to celebrate the incredible work being done by local individuals, organisations, and communities to build a greener and more eco-logical world.

And that’s exactly what the 2023 Eco Logic Awards, which took place last night, 9 November, at the Two Oceans Aquarium, is all about.

High-profile guests, eco-conscious CEOs and celebrities, and eco-champions from around South Africa showed up to pay tribute to each bronze, silver, and gold winner across 13 impactful categories. An additional shout out was given to those who wowed the audience and took home some great prizes for their ‘Glamorously Green’-themed outfits.

Whilst the awards were celebrated in a fun and light-hearted way with the well-loved comedian Nik Rabinowitz as the host on stage, alongside co-host Zandile Ndhlovu aka, The Black Mermaid, the awards ceremony provides a serious and an important national platform to showcase and promote those individuals, organizations, products, and services that are doing good for ‘people and planet’.

“Each year it becomes increasingly important and effective for us as individuals to play our part and contribute to solving today’s environmental challenges, and we can do this by leveraging our consumer spending power and supporting those that are committed to building a sustainable society and environment,” says David Parry-Davies, editor of The Enviropaedia and founder of the Eco-Logic Awards.

The awards show will be televised on People’s Weather DStv channel 180 and Openview channel 115 on 2nd and 16th December at 8am or 2pm. Tune in to catch some of the magic from the evening.

Without further ado, here are our 2023 Eco-Logic winners in running order of gold, silver and bronze:

Nature Conservation Award | Sponsored by Ford WildLife

  • Tale of Two Leopards: Cape Leopard Trust & Endangered Wildlife Trust
  • The Centre for Rehabilitation of Wildlife (CROW)
  • Grootbos Green Futures Foundation 

Climate Change | Sponsored by Daily Maverick: Our Burning Planet

  • Mary Scholes
  • GreenCape’s SA Climate Change Champs project
  • AfriSAM

Eco-Innovation | Supported by NCPCSA

  • Urban Surfer
  • Wetland-in-a-Box: Vertical Up Flow Modular Constructed Wetland Water Treatment System
  • EWT: A high-tech solution that saves threatened birds from power line collisions

Circular Economy & Waste Innovation | Sponsored by Interwaste

  • ACEN (African Circular Economy Network)
  • AECI Women in Waste Management Project
  • Sun international – Time Square

Water Conservation | Sponsored by Rand Water

  • The Water Hub
  • Vergelegen Wine Estate
  • JoJo

Eco-Fashion and Lifestyle | Sponsored by Pick n Pay Clothing

  • The Joinery
  • LEVI
  • The Legacy Collection

Eco-Health and Wellness

  • Esse Skincare
  • SOiL Organic Aromatherapy
  • The Apothecary Skin & Personal care range

Eco-Friendly Products | Sponsored by ElectroLux SA

  • Bokashi Bran
  • ProNature Paints
  • Ener-G-Africa – Clean Cooking Stove Implementation Programmes

Eco-Friendly Community | Sponsored by Danone

  • Backyard Farms
  • Kabega Primary
  • Mosselbank River Conservation Team

Eco-Angel | Sponsored by The Endangered Wildlife Trust

  • Helen Turnbull – CEO Cape Leopard Trust
  • Jane Trembath – Korsman Conservancy
  • Jonathan Leeming

Eco-Warrior | Sponsored by PolyCo SA

  • All Rise Attorneys
  • Ntsindiso Nongcavu – Coastal Links
  • Makoma Lekalakala – Earthlife Africa

Eco-Intelligence | Sponsored by GCX

  • Mark Anderson – CEO of BirdLife SA

David Parry-Davies concludes with thanks. “I would like to extend a massive thank you to our sponsors, without their generous support our annual award show wouldn’t be possible. A heartfelt thank you to the team that works tirelessly behind-the-scenes to bring such a spectacular evening together. And to each eco-champion who dedicates their time and energy to contribute to this beautiful planet, thank you! Until next year.”