Green Economy Home

Solar industry body SAPVIA elects new board

The new board members for an industry body that represents players in the solar and renewables industry has been announced. It follows an AGM held on 19 June 2020.

The Chief Operating Officer of the SA Photovoltaic Industry Association (SAPVIA), Nivesh Govender said that the new board members will bring a “wealth of knowledge and expertise to the table.”

“We are enormously grateful for their willingness to commit time, energy and expertise to build the solar and PV industry,” says Govender.

The 2020 SAPVIA Board Members are Frank Spencer of Mettle Solar Investments, Maloba Tshehla of ED Platform, Norman Moyo of DPA Africa, and Wido Schnabel of Canadian Solar Inc. elected as Chairperson.  

Outgoing board members are Simon Haw, Kittessa Roro and Busi Nxumalo.

SAPVIA was formed a decade ago by six individuals with a passion to have renewable energy included in the IRP2010. Today, it represents 378 companies and service providers across South Africa.  

“We have come a long way since then and as a body, we are excited to step into this new chapter with a multi-talented team steering us,” says Govender. 

A key area of focus for the year ahead, he adds will be the role that the renewables sector can play in helping to kick-start the South African economy post-pandemic.

The new board will serve a two-year term of office.

Register or Login to Comment

Registration also gives you access to both Positive Impact & Green Economy Journal Digital Magazines and Newsletters


Already have an account? Log in
    We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By clicking “I Agree” or by continuing to use our website you agree to their use.